Resolutions

2016.

2 5 • 3 2 • 7tumblr_njfw71PNz41tj1uzko1_1280

There’s extreme pressure in the United States to change or alter ones self at the start of the new year into improving and “bettering” for the greater good of those around.

Why?

What if the current iteration of YOU is the best little snowflake available? Should there be a way to improve ones current station?

Obvious answer: Of course.

Regardless of age, I believe we never stop learning. Even a master mechanic who grew up rebuilding Holley mechanical carburetors with the help of pipe-cleaners and ether can build their skill by understanding the computerized nuances of the newer tuned-port injection systems on modern engines. Writers who typed every word out on an IBM Selectric Typewriter onto standard paper would benefit in a huge way to learn the basic data entry models of Microsoft Word/Open Office and a basic keyboard.

New Years Resolutions, however, come with a different stigma.

I feel anything I commit myself to do, without a grounded stipulation (such as a doctors appointment or monetary commitment in some form,) I’m more likely to not do because I already said I was going to do it.

Not sure why, but it just works that way.

Case in point: I want to keep an updated blog on daily activities here at work, home, school, etc – and this is maybe the third published article? So yeah, I’m my own worst enemy. If a doctor told me to eat candy and drink alcohol every day for my health, I’d rarely touch the stuff.

My resolutions are these:

  • Write every day.
  • Learn something new every day and write about it.
  • Help others.
  • Don’t be a dick.
  • Be more positive.
  • Stop hating myself.
  • Enjoy life.
  • Try to not take life seriously since no one gets out alive.

And that’s it. It’s the same stuff I did last year. And the year before. It’s really not much different than anyone else’s list. Other than the obligatory “lose x pounds and fit into a bikini” which is something NO ONE wants me to do…other than a handful of you freaks.

Fine, I’ll go bikini shopping, but I won’t like it.

-Chris

Leave a Reply

