Dynamic Storytelling

20131209-235254.jpg
Writers should design their stories in a dynamic flow, similar to musicians, so it isn’t always active and non-stop, but ebbs and flows with emotion.

Forgive me, that may be the worst opening line I think I ever wrote in my life.

I had epidural and cortisone shot deep into my spinal cord today, along with getting a total of no sleep for the past few days, so this may sounds strange. Forgive any blatant rants from a madman. And grammar mistakes with some misspelling twists thrown in for spice.

I’ll warn everyone up front: I’m not bothering to edit this.

Dynamic music invokes different feeling when one hears it. In quiet or slower passages, the music gives a somber or peaceful tone, while the fortissimo or faster pieces are active and raise the heartbeat.

Writing should do the same. An author can’t have all slow sad pieces all the time, no one wants to willingly read a 400 page suicide note. At the same time, it can’t be the complete opposite either, with heavy action every page. I’ve read some books like this and even wrote a few.. They’re hard to finish a chapter due the stress of trying to keep up with the action.

This is why pacing plays a big part in dynamic storytelling. Each scene, each chapter should almost have a quadratic formula (I’m not sure it’s THE quadratic formula, see the tired bit up above), to figure out the level of action to the level of pacing, against the constants of dialog, description, and prose.

Heh. Let’s see if I can do this in my loopy state of mind here:

Dynamic writing formula:
P:(d+s)^r
P: Pacing
D: dialog
S: description
R: Prose

There ya go. No idea if it works, but there’s the dynamic formula for writing a dynamically paced scene.

Time to pass out. If you test this and find out it works, please let me know and I’ll come back and either re- visit this post, or at the very least edit it.. I’m too tired right now to care.

-tootles!
-Chris

Leave a Reply

