Videos and Commentating

BlizzCon-13-World-FinalsMy son loves playing video games like most kids, however, he not only plays the games, he also commentaries each and every thing that happens during the games.

It’s kind of annoying.

At the same time, I think I know where he gets the idea: video game play through videos on YouTube.

If you haven’t seen these, it’s where people talk and explain what they’re doing while they play a game. Similar to a review of a game, except it’s more like a play-by-play in baseball.

Keep in mind that most of these games take dozens or hundreds of hours to play.

And he does it ALL THE TIME.

Now, I’ve helped others with music, or guest voices on podcasts before, but never done a running vocal commentary before, but I think this is right up his alley.

The problem is I’m not sure where to even start.

I can guess the software is something like what I use for video reviews: ScreenFlow for Mac or Fraps on Windows. Publish it on YouTube.

I’ll have to pass it by him since I’m just thinking out loud, but do any of you brilliant readers have any experience or maybe fans of such videos? I’m looking for either guidance or tutorials on proper ways to set up the experience to make it less painful than a trial and error path?

If possible, send me an email or leave a comment.

-Chris

One thought on “Videos and Commentating

  1. LOL..watching game playing videos in Youtube is one of my favourite things to do. First thing first, you will need to find out what kind of games are you interested in playing if not it might not be as entertaining (for you or your future viewers) to play something that you’re not interested in.

    Just some sharing, may not be helpful but all the best to you!

    Cheers~ 😀

Leave a Reply

