Nano Thirty – The End…or is it?

Today is the last day of NanoWriMo 2013. Did you make it to 50,000 words?images

I didn’t. Not even close. Well, maybe 10,000 away. Of course, I started 5 novels, so that’s something to smack myself in the face and say “there’s your problem.” I wrote about 18,000 words before I realized I had homework and some reviews to finish before tomorrow.

On the plus side, I now have 5 solid stories going forward.

On the super-plus side, (plus plus? Plus size?) I’m focusing my writing on a story for The Dark Crystal contest for the Jim Henson company who sent out letters the beginning of last month and later opened it up for all submissions if anyone else wants to dip their feet in the cool waters while looking at three different suns: http://www.darkcrystal.com/authorquest.php

The deadline is December 31st. The contest involves writing a few chapters along with an outline and submit it to the Henson company for possibly publication. You will eventually have to write a novel of 50,000 words.

If you just did nano, guess what? YOU CAN DO IT IN A MONTH!

No problem, right? Of course it’s no problem!

If you just finished your 50,000 words, and your story is over, I would highly suggest putting your manuscript away and work on something else. The Dark Crystal project is a perfect jumping block for a new writer, or even a seasoned writer. By all means, submit your ideas! The worst possible reaction is they say “no.”

Which is what I expect them to tell me. Especially since I’ve never written a story in a world without technology of some type, so this is fun and exciting, but way out of my comfort zone.

Again: if you won, big congrats! Keep writing, and start on something new or finish the story. If you finished, keep writing and start a new project. I’d recommend using something like the Magic Spreadsheet listed here (on google+ and Google Docs) to help keep track of your words and make it more like a game to play.

However, if you are like me and didn’t win nano, keep writing anyway. You aren’t out anything, you’ve made some great friends along the way and had some laughs! Where’s the downside?

Cheers, congrats, and keep rocking!

-Chris

P.S. With nano over, do you guys want me to keep doing this daily writing blog thing or do something new? Just writing something new and different every day? Or keep it about writing? Let me know by commenting here, twitter, Facebook, G+, or drive by my house and fart or something…

4 thoughts on “Nano Thirty – The End…or is it?

    • Thank you, Jen! And after looking over the rules again for the Dark Crystal stuff, you only need 10,000 words (basically a short story) for the judging aspect. Good luck and let me know if you need any help/editing/blah blah blah..

  1. You started 5 novels in one month?! I can barely keep track of just one storyline at a time…

    I’m all for the blog being about writing, but it’s totally up to you. 🙂

    Good luck on The Dark Crystal contest!

Leave a Reply

