Nano Fourteen – OCD

funny-OCD-joke-quoteMy biggest problem when it comes to writing is keeping my HDADHD (high-definition attention deficit hyperactivity disorder) on one project at a time. To help combat this annoying issue, I rely on the aid of another psychological disorder: OCD. OCD, or CDO which is OCD in alphabetical order – the way it should be, is an anxiety, compulsion, or organization issue where things in one’s life must take place in a specific order. I’m convinced most people have a touch of OCD to some extent, however that’s a topic for a different article.

Instead of continuously working on three different novels at the same time for Nano, I’m going to start over, again, and work on a new one.

I know, I know…I did the math. Chances are I won’t “win” nano this year, but that’s fine. The point of nano is to learn self-discipline and write every day, which I feel is something I’m already capable of doing.

Instead of killing myself and making my calloused fingers bleed more, I’m going to work on a single novel encompassing every popular fiction genre and trope I can think of and put it into a story to give an editor or agent an absolute heart attack when they attempt to read the first attempt.

Genre’s I’m planning on writing in include:

  • Crime
  • Fantasy
  • Horror
  • Mystery
  • Science Fiction
  • Romance
  • Inspirational

And the absurd tropes I want to play with are:

  • Zombies
  • Vampires
  • Viruses
  • Aliens
  • Cowboys
  • Meteors
  • Sherlock
  • Time Travel
  • Space Ships
  • Robots (small and giant)
  • Monsters
  • Flying Spiders
  • Racism
  • Interspecies-breeding
  • Dreams
  • …and whatever else I can think of without a migraine.

I already have a few ideas on how to start this thing, however I feel the best thing to do is sit down and start writing and let the brain take over. See what it wants to do and go from there. However silly and stupid it wants to become, let it go there.

What would you do different?

-Chris

2 thoughts on “Nano Fourteen – OCD

  1. And Bryant, too. Dealing with the scrutiny of being an elite-caliber player is exceedingly difficult, no doubt. The pressure will be off to some extent against a team that is a gradually accepting its role as a punching bag, at least for this season (three straight losses by double digits). With no G.O.A.T. candidate on the other sideline, maybe we’ll be able to appreciate Bryant for what he is: A truly spectacular pass catcher even if he isn’t THE best at the moment.
    jack lambert jersey http://www.compubrain.net.in/vb/jersey2013.aspx?2

Leave a Reply

