Strange Thinkings.

image_thought_lifeI will blame the lack of sleep for this one, however, how many other creative types lay in bed and think of a simple plot to a story or a song and start to work out the details and before you know it, you are wide awake and ready to work?  This bothers me to no end.  I lay my head on a pillow to force my dumbass brain to turn off, not spark it into overdrive.

Sometimes it’s a bastard for no reason.  Tonight was one of those nights.

Here it is, 5:30am and I’m wide awake, 5,500 words written for nothing more than an outline or a rough sketch of an outline in Evernote of a story I won’t touch for months (I have a good two-or-three dozen in there…for good measure, I’ll explain in a moment,) and come back to build an exciting segment of arcs later.  If I become stuck, I can read some ideas and see if anything sticks out and maybe something fits into the current project.  Sometimes it will, sometimes not.

The point being: ideas always go into the “store later” shelf.

Some are too out there and will never see the light of day.  Not even in the reflection of a window as a protagonist passes by a war zone.  However, I keep them there just as a reminder that anything can or will be an idea.  It’s nice to have a place to put random brain dumps.  It removes them from the main area of the brain so the memory doesn’t have to keep re-hashing them over and over and making them stranger and more bizarre than they already are.  Some of the more serious ones with deep feelings and strong emotions are the ones where I know I have to get out of bed and write them down or else I’ll turn them into some real-life drama I don’t want stored in my head and thrown out at friends and family at the wrong time.  For me, it’s better to keep them on the shelf for when I need them later.

It’s simple brain therapy on a smartphone.  Strange thinkings my stupid brain comes up with when it should shut up and go to sleep but decides to draw some imaginary painting or movie instead.  I know there’s probably a better way to deal with it, but for me, this is my creative storage unit.

-Chris

Leave a Reply

