Final Project #1: Visual Basic

In my Advanced Programming in Visual Basic class, my team decided to do a video game as a final project.

One problem:

I’m not sure it’s possible to make a game in Visual Basic.

I mean, using VB as a frame around java – fine.  But ONLY Visual Basic?  Not going to happen.  The more I think about how the functions and utilities flow around structures, Visual Basic isn’t the right tool for a game.

It also depends on the type of game.  A graphic heavy, first-person shooter, or a Role-Playing game?  Not going to happen.  A poker game or Facebook-style farming game?  Perhaps.

Maybe it’s possible depending on the game itself.

It is one of those things that seems impossible until you break it down into small chunks and try to figure out what all goes into each little piece.  Then and only then do you realize how much of a pile of snot it is.

But, like I mentioned earlier, it’s something I need to speak with my team about.  Soon.

Not doing anything about it is driving me batty.  Of course, I don’t have much time to dedicate to building it, however doing at least a little something is better than doing nothing towards the project.

Maybe I should google-search and see if anyone has ever attempted a Visual Basic game before.

-Chris

3 thoughts on “Final Project #1: Visual Basic

  1. We have decided to open our POWERFUL and PRIVATE web traffic system to the public for a limited time! You can sign up for our UP SCALE network with a free trial as we get started with the public’s orders. Imagine how your bank account will look when your website gets the traffic it deserves. Visit us today: http://nsru.net/fdse

Leave a Reply

