Publishing and Happiness.

I listen to a ton of podcasts while I drive. If I forget my ipod, which happens more than I’d like to admit, I end up listening to NPR. I drive a good distance in bumper to bumper traffic, so I can usually get through my standard favorite podcasts: I Should Be Writing, Widescreen Warrior, Adventures in SciFi Publishing, Litopia, Writing Excuses, and Grammar Girl – just to mention the ones I can name off the top of my head I’ve followed for years.

I hear many authors say they’ve worked on a piece for many years before it was eventually published, and I know I’m not the most patient person in the world but I give up on a poop after 15 minutes.

I have a handful of manuscripts, none of them are perfect, but I keep writing.
Why? I hear you asking (and I CAN hear you punks,)

Simple: I keep writing because I enjoy it, it makes me happy and it keeps the depressive thoughts out of my gray matter for the most part.

If I get paid, great. If not, I’m still doing something creative I enjoy doing. Its the same reason I paint, read, write and perform music, annoy critics and be myself.

I have a day job that covers most of the bills, however I would love more people to read the drabble I scrabble in scrivener.

I hear today on an older podcast of Adventures in SciFi Publishing (I’m catching up – don’t judge me,) about a publishing house called Evolved…or something along those lines where the authors, editors and artists all work together to put together a polished product before distributing it to the wild masses of animals who read.

That’s the type of organization I can get behind. That’s the type of team I’d like to be part of: creative talented (no relation I’m aware of) humans helping other creative types out.

As soon as the twins go to bed and I take a shower, I’m looking up the company and going to see about applying to join their team.

It may not be what I’ve been looking for, however up until this point, no company has inspired me enough to give a damn.

-me

Leave a Reply

