Writing Time. How to Manage.

I’m asked one question more than any other question combined: “How do you have time to write?”

There isn’t a simple answer or magic time machine I’ve gotten to work as of yet. Everyone has the same amount of time in the day and how you balance or organize said time means everything. I would bold and underline everything in the last sentence, however I’m typing this on a blackberry and the interface for wordpress sucks droopy donkey dong, so here goes:
-sleep: 6-8 hours
-work: 8 hours

Those two you HAVE to do. Don’t think you’re different than everyone else, we all have to sleep and we all have to work. Get past it.

Out of 24 hours in the day, 16 of them are unusable for writing. (Kind of, I’ll get to it in a minute.) Next you have family life, chores, school, television, car repairs, video games and talking online with friends. These are the areas from those available 8 free hours you will have to squirt a few paragraphs out. If you have a wife, ask for a few hours before bed and then give her the ride of her life. If you typically eat lunch at your desk, bring a notepad or another laptop and squeeze 30 minutes or so out. If you have a long commute into and from work, use voice dictation on your phone, if applicable, to think up ideas for your main characters.

The point is this: if you want to write, you have to make time to write. Even if you write 50 words a day, by the end of a month you’ll have 1400 words. By the end of six months, you’ll have a few chapters done. Every small bit counts. Rome wasn’t built in a day, right?

Those boring meetings and conference calls? Write. Church? Two solid hours of prose…granted it might not be wise to write erotica in church, but if you’ve ever read Song of Solomon, you could do better.

The whole point is this: write when you have the chance. You don’t need a light drizzle on the windowpane and two candles flickering against the tapestries over laying the bricks in your study to scribble down original ideas.

And just so people don’t think I’m talking out of my ass, I have 4 kids – two of them 19 month old twins, a full time job where I’m on call 24/7 and I’m going back to school for my bachelor degree in computer science with a wife who would love to see me more than she can. Add those facts and I’m a nerd with a gaming addict problem and so many psychological problems I would need another post to list them all.

TL:DR: just write and quitcher bitchin.
-me

P.S. I wrote this entire blog while sitting on my front porch smoking.

One thought on “Writing Time. How to Manage.

Leave a Reply

