Distractions and Creativity

Update from yesterday’s post: I forgot my script, so when I finish formatting the computer and reinstalling all her apps, ill give it to her then. No biggie. I’ve been sitting on it for 6 months, a few days won’t kill it.

In other news, I was listening to a podcast (big shout out to Adventures in SciFi Publishing) and they were talking about listening to music while they write. Maybe it’s how I listen to music, but I usually want to write music after listening to music. Kind of how reading great books (Black Gods War – just get it now) makes me want to write.

But it got me thinking: when I do something creative, I need to be able to go into my own head with no distractions to create or view what’s in my imagination. Even something like the television downstairs will distract me enough to put headphones on and not plug them into anything.

Anyone else have this problem?

Curiously,
-me

Leave a Reply

