Self Promotion of a Ninja Mailman.

I’ve realized I’m not the sociopath I once thought I was.  Instead, I’m a like a “ninja mailman,” waiting in the shadows to deliver a message without anyone seeing me.

Ninja Mailman.  Christ, I need more coffee.

The point I’m trying to make is this: I’m not all high and mighty on the Self Promotion bandwagon.  The brilliant comedian Adam Ferrara once said “You know how big my ego is?  I keep a diary and a lie to myself in it.”  I’m not that way.  I suck at self promotion and feel even worse about my self image.

I checked out the Amazon stats for Tempt the Fates and realized in two months I’ve sold more YA books than my two self-published music albums from the early 2000’s COMBINED.  That’s right: SIX.  (I only sold three records.  Total.  Despite them being awesome.  Now I give them away for free.)

It’s sad, humbling and keeps me grounded in the fact that here I sit broken-hearted…wait, wrong stall.  I’m writing to write.  I’m here punching out ideas and plotlines and story arcs and all this other nonsense because I want to.  I don’t give a rat’s trap how many I sell.  I’m not here to sell books or ideas or anything.  If I did, Great!  But in the end, I want to tell a story and have people enjoy what I do.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  I’m here to write and tell a story.  I want to enjoy what I do and have fun doing what I enjoy.  Pimping myself isn’t part of “Fun” for me since I’m not a sociopath.  I understand now many authors – especially self-published authors have to pimp themselves.  Let’s just say my pimp hand isn’t “strong.”  I don’t think of myself that way.

However, I do have the online presence.  I’ve helped Widescreenwarrior.com with their gaming section for the past year, I just contributed (and hope to keep going forward) with the “Shall We Play A Game” podcast and as for writing books, novellas and whatever else people want to call “stories,” well, I’m going to keep doing what I enjoy.

If I make money, great!  If not, I lose nothing but time.  I’m doing what I love to do because I’m doing it my way.  When this becomes too much like work, I’ll probably stop doing it.  I said I’m not a sociopath, I can also tell you I’m not much of a masochist either.  Well, depends on the woman.  In some instances I’ll be a masochist.  I do have a slight biting fetish, but that’s for a different article.

Anyways, here’s the link to the podcast if you’d like to hear the episode: (Not sure if if it’s in iTunes yet…)

http://www.widescreenwarrior.com/2011/11/22/shall-we-play-a-game-7-the-return-for-real-this-time/

 

And here’s the link on Widescreenwarrior for my review of Zelda: Skyward Sword:

http://www.widescreenwarrior.com/2011/11/22/the-legend-of-zelda-skyward-sword-review/

 

As always, I’m on twitter, Facebook and the everywhere else people go to pimp themselves when they don’t want to. (links are on the top of the blog.)

still-giggling-about-ninja-mailman-ly,

-me

Leave a Reply

