Writing and Distractions

Right now I’m sitting at my kitchen table covered with bills, paperwork, pizza flyers and three laptops.  I’ve come to realize with my creativity, I become aggravated if something can possibly to take my attention away and therefore need to clean or do chores or whatever is around me to complete to remove those possibilities away from what I need to do.

To put it another way, I need to update windows 7 on this machine and the little one behind it, save my nanowrimo project to dropbox on the mac, clean the table, do the dishes, throw in a load of laundry, charge my two cell phones, put a handful of things away in the kids’ rooms and then I might get a chance to see about hitting my word count of the day for nanowrimo.

I had started last night with a scene and the twins needed attention so the scene sat overnight.  I plan to at least finish the scene before trying to move the timeline ahead a bit and get to the third act of the story.  I’m not sure how to gracefully move a story arc into the future, but I’m going to give it a shot and probably end up re-writing it ten times before making the book longer by creating “what happened” during those times.

Maybe I can ask Mur.  She knows everything.

Anyways, time to start the chores!

-Sweatingly,

-me

Leave a Reply

