Cancer

I received a phone call today from my friend James while I was in a staff meeting and he informed me about our friend Chuck Preston. Chuck’s the type of guy who will never tell you he’s hurt or in any type of pain, but he’s also been battling cancer for over four years now.

He wasn’t doing so well, today may be the last chance any of us were to see him alive.

I drove up to the hospital, found out what room he was in and he was hooked up to a central line and 20 other devices. His body shut down so most of the working is done by various mechanical instruments in the room. The last I saw Chuck, he was a healthy 160 pounds, today, he was under 70. His mom was there and I spoke with her most of the time since he was in and out of consiousness, and she’s a sweetheart. She doesn’t deserve this to happen to her son. 10 years ago, Chuck didn’t deserve this to happen to his father either.

I’m not a praying man, but I will pray this last round of chemo brings him back from the brink of death.

Please, keep Charles Preston in your hopes and prayers and let’s show the impossible it can, and will, be beaten.

Determinedly,
-me

P.S. I now will have a new character in my nanowrimo book dedicated to and for chuck. He would have wanted it that way and its my small token of appreciation for being a great guy in life and a greater friend.

2 thoughts on “Cancer

Leave a Reply

