Writing into a corner.

To say NaNoWriMo is kicking my ass would be an understatement. My story has gone from constructed organized insanity to WTF was he thinking. Each page changes the outcome just a little but more and there in lies my problem. I believe by wrapping two stories into one, and splitting the narration into two distinct time frames, I’ve painted myself into a corner.

The phrase of “painting into a corner” usually comes from the idea of a painter painting a floor and leaving no exit having painted the way out.

My problem is this: in the first act, which is more along the lines of Introduction and development of awesome characters, the gap in time is what scares me the most. Part of me wants to make the novel longer by going into the main war in the decade between the main areas of the novel, and the other part of me says, “screw it. -ll do it later.”

Anyone else come to this type of pigeonholing within their own imagination?

Confusingly,
-me

One thought on “Writing into a corner.

  1. Im no professional, but I imagine you just made the best point. You obviously fully understand what youre talking about, and I can really get behind that. Thanks for being so upfront and so honest.

Leave a Reply

