An open letter to my ex-wife.

Dear ex, we have been through some hard times and some harder times, but you calling me “not a writer” is not an insult to me. I do call myself a writer because I write; I feel the raw emotion of the characters screaming on the pages as the words go magically by. The fact I haven’t studied English or mastered the use of grammar doesn’t make me any less of a writer any more than me receiving less tickets than you make me a better driver.

It makes me happy. I love story telling and since I don’t have the capabilities to do it in musical form anymore, I chose Microsoft Word.

You pointed out specifically my project of “how to write and self publish” which is less about writing and more about the cheapest way to get a book to print. However, I’m writing that book while I write and edit other novels. I’m sitting on 90,000 words I will start editing after november is over and the experience will be documented as well as novembers NaNoWriMo.

No, Harper-Collins and Tor haven’t offered me contracts, but part of me doesn’t want them to. I want to write because I like writing and it makes me feel good. It’s my anti-depression medication and mothers’ breast in literary form. I’m reading more, I’m writing more, I’m networking with other writers and making friendships with people where the common theme is writing. A contract can’t replace that.

I would love to see you write. Hell, I’d love to see you read something again… You used to love writing, what took the spark away from you? I’d like to avoid it if possible.

Enough is enough, chastise me and call me every name you wish. I like writing and if I want to call myself a writer – even without a contract – I plan on doing so…without your permission.

No one questions the doctor in front of my name… I don’t see you complaining about that.

Prolly-gonna-regret-posting-thisly,
-me

One thought on “An open letter to my ex-wife.

  1. I have to clarify something: I wrote this about an off-the-wall comment and it sparked this bit about why I call myself a writer. I in no way intended to attack or call my ex-wife out for anything other than that original off the wall comment. And to be honest, I would love to collaborate with her on a writing project in the future. I think it’s a shame she doesn’t write anymore, but that’s my own personal feeling, nothing negative about her at all.

    Maybe one day in the future we’ll be able to work together and create a world together, but I wanted to clear the air about my original intent. She is excellent at writing, grammar and spelling and I would love to have her edit my work and personally think she would do well in the industry as a proofreader and editor.
    -Chris

Leave a Reply

