NaNoWriMo story idea

I have what I feel is a brilliant mystery scifi horror story that I’m going to plot out and use for nanowrimo. If you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is, google it for the homepage, but it’s essentially the idea where you write a novel in November. You need so many words by the end of the month to “win” but it’s more of away to get creative people off their asses and pounding out 40,000 words.

I thought a novel was 80,000 words, but I’m probably wrong.

I signed up this year and will do my damnedest to smash those 40,000 words into dust particles.

If anyone is in or near Detroit, I’d be up for some writing sessions at a library or Starbucks or something…

Time for bed!
-me

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo story idea

  1. Don’t want to burst your bubble, but NaNoWriMo is 50,000 words. Technically that’s a little short for most novels and most agents won’t look at them, I’d classify them as novellas and there is a market for them in many lit mags.

    Good luck and have fun, I did it last year and had a blast.

  2. 50,000 is still easily obtainable. Since I’m more of a discovery writer (as opposed to one who outlines everything beforehand) I’m going to keep making little notes and November 1st jump in with both feet and hit the ground running.

    It’s not against the rules to have an idea beforehand, is it?

Leave a Reply

